The History of Bricín
Two centuries of Killarney history resonate in the natural stone walls of Bricin Shop and Restaurant located in the lakeland town's High Street. Owners Johnny and Paddy McGuire incorporated antique timber and stained glass in the sympathetic restoration of the original building almost 20 years ago.
Johnny and Paddy’s interest in Irish culture is reflected in the choice of the Gaelic name, Bricin, which is now synonymous with quality and individuality in Killarney. Bricin is the Gaelic word for 'lttile trout' and is also the name of a picturesque stone bridge on Dinis Peninsula in Killarney National Park.
CLICK HERE TO VIEW JEREMIAH MOYNIHAN'S LETTERS FROM AMERICA
As two brothers born and bred in Killarney, we take pride in the fact that we are the locals’ choice and that Bricin is first to the lips when visitors ask for a recommendation. Since we opened in November, 1991, our unique ambience and the consistency of our excellent menu have charmed people the world over. From the beginning, we have made it our policy to stock the best of quality Irish crafts in our downstairs shop and to use locally-sourced ingredients in our traditional Irish dishes in the upstairs restaurant.
With a collector’s eye for beauty, we have incorporated many, fine antique pieces of furniture,
stained glass and art in our décor. As you dine, drink in the attraction of the variety of art work
associated with Killarney,dating from 1770 to the present day.